Brewery Review: Hamburg Brewing Company – Hamburg, NY

Hamburg Brewing Company

Hamburg, NY

Hamburg Brewing Logo

The Atmosphere:

2016-03-12 12.07.44-1_tonemapped

This is easily one of the prettiest breweries I’ve ever been to, and I’ve been to a lot.  The inside reminds me of a really nice ski lodge.  And the outside, there is a gorgeous pond in the back with a huge patio overlooking it.  My first thought was this would be a really pretty place to have a small wedding (inside or out).  Each time I’ve been here I was treated very well, and I will continue to come back.

 The Beer:

2014-02-28 17.18.53

This was from my original visit back in 2014.  It was in February or March and we went to a Sabres game after it.   I definitely remember REALLY enjoying the barrel aged stout I had.

2016-03-12-12.17.53_tonemapped

Pretty much everything I’ve had from Hamburg has been really enjoyable.  The sour that I was able to try on my most recent trip was really well done.  Nice and tart with a really nice flavor to it.  If they bottle or can that, I could definitely drink it all summer long.  I also picked myself up a bottle of Derailed, their new Bourbon Barrel Aged Stout.  A review of that will be coming sometime soon.  I forgot to grab myself a glass for that review, though!

Menu when I last visited:

2016-03-12 12.14.48

The Food:

There isn’t too much on the menu, but the things we ordered were all really good.  I tried almost everything they had to offer when I ordered pretzels, chips and salsa, and pizza.  The pizzas were a really nice thin crust that could have been homemade.  The pretzels were salty and tasty and the dips all paired really nice with my beers.  And I didn’t each much of the chips and salsa, but I was told those were also delicious.  A place this pretty could/would benefit from a few sandwiches or even a food truck in the summer.  It’s pretty big inside and out, and I think people would stay even longer if they had more choices for food.

Overall:

I’ll be back… seriously, it’s a bit of a drive for me and I know that I’ll be coming back for sure.  I’m going to have to pay attention to when they have new releases because I’ve really enjoyed a lot of the beers they’ve had to offer and I’d love to be a part of a release day/weekend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.